WOO HOO! Assumption Community wins Best Float in 2024 Cherry Festival Parade

Assumption School, Parish, and CYO Athletics represented our community well in the 2024 San Leandro Cherry Festival. We consider this San Leandro tradition has deep ties to the importance of our relationship to our wonderful city. Assumption WON Best Float - we have been awarded Best Float for three years and Best School Float for one year. It has been a long winning streak for us! 
The Cherry Festival and Parade is such a great place for all ages! It is fun, engaging, and brings our city together. It is always held this first week in June and makes it a wonderful culminating event for our students and families because it becomes a true celebration of what makes Assumption School and Parish great. We hope to continue actively participating in this Festival but can only do this with the love and support of parents who brainstorm ideas, coordinate decorating times and breakdown times, work to make the vision a reality, and who celebrates with us. This year, we are so grateful for School Board Vice President Liz DiGiacomo who led the charge with the help of parents' wonderful support. This was definitely a labor of love for Liz and her crew. Thanks to Karen Barbera, art teacher and alumni parent, who brought the art of our school in the form of crepe paper flowers to our float as well as provided support to the vision this year -- Together We Grow! 
This is also an amazing marketing push for our school. The Cherry Festival Booth coordinated by our School Board Marketing Committee and manned by School Board members, school parents, parishioners, and teachers brought in a lot of interest about our school. Maybe some of you remember seeing our school float or booth previous years and those folks impacted your decision to find out about Assumption School! Thanks to Laila Mdanat for setting up our booth, planning activities, and manning the booth most of the day. 
Liz DiGiacomo, our fearless float cheerleader and coordinator
Shane Ferris, alumni parent ('23)
Sarah Bartlett 
Alicia Blum
Lisa Moreno
Bridget Britt
Jeremy Britt 
Joe Stark
Jessica Stark
Laila Mdanat
Karen Barbera
Janine Cherpan
Joe Russell
Rosie Miguel
Bobby Alvarez
Svetlin Radev
Sarah Baker
Eric Deichl
Greg Stewart
Elizabeth Drake
Tina Mihaescu
Anthony Sue
Cristelle Sue
We are so grateful for your time, treasure, and talent.
It wasn't just these great Festival leaders. We are grateful for ALL our parents who participated, planned, and got their kids into their CYO or school uniforms on a Saturday. Your student gets FREE DRESS on Monday, June 10.